About Us

Since its first concert in June 2002, Allegro Orchestra Lancaster has brought joyful music to the Lancaster community. Inspired by the vision of Founder and Artistic Director, Dr. Brian Norcross, the ensemble embodies the classic definition of music by Catherine Drinker Bowen as a “conversation between friends.” Most of Allegro’s immensely talented professional players are from Lancaster County. Their love of great music – and of playing together – shows in every performance.

Our mission is to expand the appreciation and love for classical music across multiple generations in Lancaster County by making great music accessible in new, friendly and playful ways. Join us!

Artistic Leadership
B. Norcross Headshot.jpg

Dr. Brian Norcross

Artistic Director

Dr. Brian Norcross is not only the Artistic Director of Allegro Orchestra Lancaster but also one of its founders. His passion for creating a joyful experience when conducting, playing and listening to classical music drives much of Allegro’s artistic vision and audience experience.

Many people know Brian from Franklin & Marshall College where he is the Conductor of Instrumental Ensembles. He is also well known around the community as the Director of Music at First United Methodist Church.

He and his wife Kim have four children: Molly, Megan, Greyson and Gloria.

Melody Cliff.jpg

Melody Cliff

Concert Master

Allegro is thrilled to have the talented Melody Cliff as its concert master.  Melody has been performing with Allegro since 2008. She is passionate about sharing the joy of music with the next generation of musicians and audiences alike. Melody is the orchestra director at Lower Dauphin Middle and High Schools, where she has taught for over 10 years.

A native of Elizabethtown, she was a violin student of Odin Rathnam, Melinda Daetsch, and Michael Jamanis. Melody studied Music Education at Lancaster Bible College and earned her Master's Degree in Violin Performance from West Chester University, where she studied with Sylvia Ahramjian.


Melody lives in downtown Lancaster with her husband Bill and their two sons, Griffin and Gavin.


Zachary Levi

Assistant Conductor

Zachary Levi is Allegro's Assistant Conductor and NextGEN Youth Orchestra's Overture Conductor. He is also the high school orchestra director in the Southern York County School District as well as the orchestra director at York College. In addition to teaching and conducting, Zach is an active cellist performing with Allegro and the York Symphony. He lives in Columbia with his wife Johanna and their son, Samuel.

Board Members

Gene Clark

Scott Cullen

Morgann Davis

Zach Fried, President

Carl Hartman

Ken Husler
Catrina Laubach, Treasurer

Beth Lavender
Anne Nye
Stephanie Stauffer

Betsy Swartz

Gary Troxell


Paul E. Richer II, CEO



Brian Krauss

Don Grabowski

John Yerger


Kimberly Buchar

Ralph Lehman

Robin Plant


Beth Lavender

Brian Mishler

Ellen Eager

John Caldwell

Melissa Brun

Steve Lavender

Zach Levi


Bev Butts

Christy Banks

Gary Troxell

Jill Gagliardi

Rob Shaubach


Benjamin Martin

CJ Flint

Jana MacKay

Morgann Davis


Cheryl Cunningham


Anne Nye

Elizabeth Pfaffle

James Rester

Jill Graybill

Kris Albert

Leah Jorgensen

Lori Groff


Jill Hoffmann

Kathy Horein

Lauren Fairfull


Bob Nowak

Brent Behrenshausen

Dan Heslink

Jud Brill

Mark Yingling

Paul Murr

Tom Blanchard


Biba Benjamin

Rosemary Blessing


Andrew Walls

Clay Sattazahn

Jerry Heilner

Joseph Snyder

Scott Cullen

Stefan Weibe


Doug Albert

Gene Clark


Bill Grager

Bruce Smith

Geoff Davis

Michael Banks


Brook Mead

Christy Kauffman

Jody Greve

John Hamilton

Marianne Kelly

Richard Ney


Amanda Krauss

Ben Detrick

Betsy Swartz

Brianna Mellon

Catherine Baker

Chi Park

Christopher Brooks

Corrinne White

Joanna Levi

John Herr

Katelyn Kiehl

MaryLee Yerger

Maya Shih

Melody Cliff

Michael Lambertson

Nile Wilson

Sharon Lambertson

Stephanie McCullough

Tara Kenkelen

Todd Sullivan

Venona Detrick

Interested in Playing for Allegro?

Allegro Orchestra Lancaster is open to outstanding performers who demonstrate a high level of musicianship and who reflect Allegro’s mission of sharing a joyful experience with audience members of all ages. To be considered, a player must receive a recommendation from a current Allegro member. The player will then be invited to perform with Allegro in a series of rehearsals for evaluation. Based on their musicianship, attitude, and connection to the mission of Allegro, they may be invited to become a member of Allegro Orchestra Lancaster. Interested musicians are invited to contact Artistic Director, Dr. Brian Norcross, at brian.norcross@fandm.edu.

Interested in joining the Board?

We're currently looking for new board members. Contact us! 

Photo Gallery

To view a variety of photos from our concerts and events, click here.